Introductions

As the first post on this blog, it seems necessary to introduce myself. My name is Christine Joy Ganase and I’m a fourth year psychology student at the University of British Columbia.

My intention with this blog is to use it as a conduit for my thoughts, reactions, and opinions regarding the content explored in the Latin American Studies class within which I am currently enrolled.

A significant component of this course is a Video Assignment that extensively covers a specific topic related to one of the numerous themes explored within the class. In previous years, it seems that many students have covered topics ranging from dictatorship in Latin America, to the advent of the independence of Latin American people. In looking at some of the past videos, I notice that certain ones have caught my eye for various reasons.

One such video is the one titled “Caudillos.” Published by a group of five students in 2016, this particular video stuck out to me thanks to the creative style in which it was executed. Unlike many of the other student videos, this group used personal drawings to explain their topic, which made for a refreshing watch.

In another video published in 2016, titled “Independence in Latin America,” a group of five students managed to capture and maintain my attention through their enthusiasm in relaying what they know about their topic. This enthusiasm made the video quite enjoyable and feel more natural.

Finally, the 2015 video titled “Sendero Luminoso” sets the publishing duo apart for its professionalism. Their thorough and slow-paced explanation of Shining Path allows for an enjoyable and easy-to-follow video, even given the level of detail with which the pair goes to in order to educate their audience.

Overall, looking at past videos has made me hopeful that the assignment will eventually become a fun task.

Leave a comment